Aerial view of campus

Summer Section

Graduate students are eligible to enroll in the annual summer institutes, which alternate between the Caffyn Institute, taught by KU English faculty, and the Holmes Institute, taught by visiting faculty. Below you'll find the course description for our current summer institute as well as past institute instructors.

2024 Summer Institute

ENGL 750: Jane Austen and Her Contemporary

Instructor: Devoney Looser

Course description TBA.

Past Summer Institutes

2022  Rita Felski, UVA

2020  Jeffrey Masten, Northwestern

2018  Cary Wolfe, Rice

2016  Wendy Wheeler, London Metropolitan

2014  N. Katherine Hayles, Duke

2012  Patrick Brantlinger, Indiana

2010  Lawrence Buell, Harvard

2008  Susan Gubar, Indiana

2007  Karma Lochrie, Indiana

2006  Priscilla Ward, Duke

2005  John P. Farrell, Texas

2004  Alan Golding, Louisville

2003  Helena Michie, Rice

2002  Dana Nelson, Kentucky

2001  Frances Dolan, Miami of Ohio

2000  Susan K. Harris, Penn State

1999  Mary Poovey, NYU

1998  Myra Jehlen, Rutgers

1997  Valerie Wayne, Hawaii

1996  Paul Fussell, Penn

1995  Nancy Armstrong, Brown

1994  Scott Russell Sanders, Indiana

1993  Eric Sundquist, UCLA

1992  Constance Penley, UCSB

1991  Sharon O’Brien, Dickinson College

2023  Randall Fuller, KU

2021  Phil Drake, KU

2019  Kij Johnson, KU

2017  Giselle Anatol, KU